Pro-EU Morgan named TSC chair

Pro-EU former education minister Nicky Morgan has been named chair of the Treasury Select Committee, defeating a field of other MPs including Brexiteer and potential Tory leadership candidate Jacob Rees-Mogg.

The appointment of Morgan, who was sacked by the Prime Minister a year ago tomorrow, to the influential post is being seen as another blow to Theresa May. She won 290 votes, compared to Rees-Mogg’s 226, garnering support of Labour MPs wanting to block a hard-Brexit TSC chair.

Morgan was Financial Secretary to the Treasury for four months in 2014, following a six-month stint as Economic Secretary to the Treasury. Aged 44, she entered Parliament in 2010.

Full list of committee chairs

  • Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (Labour) – Rachel Reeves
  • Communities and Local Government (Labour) – Clive Betts
  • Defence (Conservative) – Julian Lewis
  • Education (Conservative) – Robert Halfon
  • Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Conservative) – Neil Parish
  • Foreign Affairs (Conservative) – Tom Tugendhat
  • Northern Ireland Affairs (Conservative) – Andrew Murrison
  • Science and Technology (Liberal Democrat) – Norman Lamb
  • Transport (Labour) – Lilian Greenwood
  • Treasury (Conservative) – Nicky Morgan
  • Backbench Business Committee (Opposition party) – Ian Mearns